Tuesday 28 March 2017

Breaking News: Uniben SUG storms VC’s office, then this happens

 Members of the Parliamentary arm of Uniben SUG, yesterday, stormed the Vice-Chancellor’s Office (VCO) to register their displeasure over the recently released election
time-table and sitting allowances owned the union.
The delegation, led by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Laurel Aigbogun, also frowned at the situation where some “so called” Union life members/Stakeholders stormed the last plenary sitting which held at Law faculty, Saturday 25th, with the motive of disrupting the peaceful sitting. 
It was further revealed that observers were barred from the sitting which held behind closed doors. However, it was so glaring that men of the Uniben security compromised and allowed them(Stakeholders) in, which led to uproar in the house and compelled them(Parliament) to end the sitting, inconclusively. 
On the issue of the proposed SUG election, the parliamentarians stated that it has never been done in the history of Uniben where the sales of forms are released before the ratification of ELECO Sec. 
Addressing the aggrieved union members, the Vice-Chancellor of the institution, Prof F. F. O. Oruwenmse reiterated his support for the SUG and promised to retrieve the time-table earlier released. 
Speaking further, Prof. Oruwenmse stated that the Parliament will be given the opportunity and more time to elect an ELECO Sec.
The Vice-Chancellor also added that the issue of non-payment of stipends/sitting allowances and the alleged disruption of plenary by stakeholders will be looked into. 

Obviously satisfied with the Vice-Chancellor’s response, the union members praised the VC in their various Aluta demonstrations like “3-gboza for the VC”, “Is our VC carried”?, etc 
It would be recalled that the Dean of Student, Prof O. B. Osadolor, had earlier this week released a Memo which states that election into the various SUG elective position holds between 11th and 13th April, 2017 
Those present at the meeting include the Dean of Student and other principal officers, NANS President, Comr. Aruna Kadiri, SUG President, Hon. (Miss) Lauretta Obakpolo and other members of the executive. 

Join us on our social media platforms

No comments: